PSL Prediction: Who will win PSL 2023?

Bajivip88-PSL Prediction Who will win PSL 2023

The 8th edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is set to kick off on February 13th at the Multan Cricket Stadium in Multan. The inaugural match will feature reigning champions Lahore Qalandars and last year’s runner-up Multan Sultans.

For this upcoming season, our prediction leans towards Multan Sultans emerging victorious and claiming the PSL championship. Under the captaincy of wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan, Multan Sultans have shown their mettle. Their performance in the previous season was notable, as they dominated the league stage, securing victories in 9 out of 10 matches.

The Multan Sultans’ squad has been bolstered for the upcoming season with key additions including David Miller, Josh Little, Akeal Hosein, Kieron Pollard, and Wayne Parnell. This infusion of talent has undoubtedly reinforced the team’s strength. The odds for Multan Sultans to clinch the PSL trophy this year stand at 4.50 according to Betway. With these new acquisitions, the Sultans’ squad appears to be even more formidable than before.

PSL 2023 Underdog Team

Anticipating Babar Azam’s transition this season, we foresee him taking up the mantle of leading the Peshawar Zalmi in the forthcoming campaign. Peshawar Zalmi, in our view, is the dark horse selection for PSL 2023.

Babar Azam’s astute understanding of T20 cricket is poised to be a catalyst, harnessing the potential of the squad to deliver noteworthy outcomes. Notably, Rovman Powell and Bhanuka Rajapaksa are fresh incorporations to the Zalmi roster.

Mohammad Haris, who participated in 5 matches last season, made an impact by amassing 166 runs at a striking rate of 186.51. His role as a pivotal batsman holds significance for the Zalmi lineup. Meanwhile, Salman Irshad, who emerged as the premier wicket-taker in the previous season with 15 scalps, is anticipated to replicate his stellar performance, a prospect Zalmi eagerly awaits.

In the forthcoming edition of the Pakistan Super League, six teams are set to participate. These teams have been a part of the league since its inception in 2015, with the exception of Multan Sultans, which entered the scene during the 2017 season. 

Here is the lineup of the six PSL teams for the 2023 season:

  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Lahore Qalandars
  • Islamabad United
  • Quetta Gladiators
  • Multan Sultans
  • Karachi Kings

PSL 2023 League Format

The Pakistan Super League follows a format of double round-robin and playoffs. Each of the six teams will compete against the other five teams twice during the league stage, resulting in a total of 30 matches.

Following the conclusion of the league stage, the top four teams in the points table will advance to the playoffs. The playoff stage consists of four matches, including 2 Eliminators, 1 Qualifier, and the Final.

In the Qualifier match, the top two teams will compete against each other, with the victorious team securing a direct spot in the finals. Meanwhile, the 3rd and 4th ranked teams will contend in the 1st Eliminator match. The loser of the Qualifier match and the winner of the 1st Eliminator match will face off in the 2nd Eliminator match.

The ultimate showdown in the PSL 2023 will be between the winners of the 1st Qualifier and 2nd Eliminator matches in the final.

PSL 2023 Winner (updated 18 March 2023)

The PSL 8 tournament recently concluded on March 18, 2023, with Lahore Qalandars emerging as the victors, clinching the PSL 8 championship.