Will B-Love Kandy win again in the Lanka Premier League 2024?

Will B-Love Kandy win again in the Lanka Premier League 2024?

The LPL 2024 is set to be the fourth edition of the Lanka Premier League Tournament. Anticipated to run from August 1, 2024, to August 22, 2024, this cricketing extravaganza is expected to captivate fans once again, showcasing the finest talents in Sri Lanka and promising another thrilling chapter in the history of the sport.

In a nail-biting final showdown, B-Love Kandy (BLK) emerged triumphant over Dambulla Aura (DA) in the gripping climax of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023. It was a contest that will be etched in cricketing memory, as BLK clinched the coveted LPL 2023 title with a thrilling 5-wicket victory over DA in the final match held at the R. Premadasa Stadium on Sunday, August 20.

Opting to bat after winning the toss, Dambulla Aura laid the foundation for a competitive total, ultimately setting a target of 147/4 in their allocated 20 overs. Their batting effort was a collective endeavor, with notable contributions from key players. Kusal Mendis chipped in with 22 runs, while Sadeera Samarawickrama added 36 runs to the scoreboard. Kusal Perera played a pivotal role, amassing 31 runs. However, it was Dhananjaya de Silva’s explosive knock of 40 runs that propelled DA’s innings to a respectable total. In the bowling department, Chaturanga de Silva (2 wickets) and Nuwan Pradeep (1 wicket) stood out for BLK, applying pressure on the Dambulla batters.

BLK, in their pursuit of victory, showcased their batting prowess. They managed to achieve the required runs with just one ball to spare, concluding their innings at 151/5 in 19.5 overs. Kamindu Mendis emerged as a standout performer, crafting a well-executed 44-run innings. He received vital support from Mohammad Haris, who contributed 26 runs, as well as Dinesh Chandimal and Angelo Mathews, who scored 24 and 25 runs, respectively. Noor Ahmad’s superb bowling effort for Dambulla Aura (3 wickets for 27 runs) added an element of tension to the match, but BLK’s Asif Ali, with 19 runs, ultimately sealed the victory.

Here is the schedule of the LPL 2024:

LPL 2024 Schedule & Match Details

DateMatch DetailsVenueTime
01/08/2024Jaffna Kings vs Colombo Strikers, 1st MatchPallekele International Cricket Stadium14:00
02/08/2024Galle Titans vs Dambulla Aura, 2nd MatchPallekele International Cricket Stadium09:30
03/08/2024B Love Kandy vs Colombo Strikers, 3rd MatchPallekele International Cricket Stadium14:00
04/08/2024Dambulla Aura vs Jaffna Kings, 4th MatchPallekele International Cricket Stadium09:30
05/08/2024Galle Titans vs B Love Kandy, 5th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
06/08/2024Colombo Strikers vs Galle Titans, 6th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo09:30
07/08/2024Dambulla Aura vs Jaffna Kings, 7th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
08/08/2024Galle Titans vs B-Love Kandy, 8th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo09:30
09/08/2024Jaffna Kings vs Colombo Strikers, 9th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
10/08/2024B-Love Kandy vs Dambulla Aura, 10th MatchPallekele International Cricket Stadium09:30
11/08/2024Galle Titans vs Jaffna Kings, 11th MatchPallekele International Cricket Stadium14:00
12/08/2024Colombo Strikers and Dambulla Aura, 12th MatchPallekele International Cricket Stadium09:30
12/08/2024B-Love Kandy vs Jaffna Kings, 13th MatchPallekele International Cricket Stadium14:00
13/08/2024Dambulla Aura vs Galle Titans, 14th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
13/08/2024Jaffna Kings vs B-Love Kandy, 15th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo09:30
14/08/2024Dambulla Aura vs Colombo Strikers, 16th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
15/08/2024Jaffna Kings vs Galle Titans, 17th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo09:30
15/08/2024Colombo Strikers vs B-Love Kandy, 18th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
16/08/2024B-Love Kandy vs Dambulla Aura, 19th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
17/08/2024Colombo Strikers vs Galle Titans, 20th MatchR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
18/08/2024TBD vs TBD, Qualifier 1 of LPL 2024R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo09:30
19/08/2024TBD vs TBD, Eliminator of LPL 2024R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
20/08/2024TBD vs TBD, Qualifier 2 of LPL 2024R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00
22/08/2024TBD vs TBD, Final of LPL 2024R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo14:00

Follow Baji for more updates on the LPL 2024!